SATISFACTION

I know it is the same with all of you – it is really satisfying to take pieces of wood and turn them into something useful, pleasing or attractive (after, of course, any frustrations, ‘Well shoot”‘s and “oh, man!”)

To me it is also satisfying to take something that looks like this:

And turn it into something that looks like this:

Whenever I refurbish old tools I start by soaking them in EvapoRust, then (after I have rinsed them in water and dried them off) I use a wire brush on my grinder to buff up the metal from the EvapoRust soak, and then I often put a couple coats of paint on them (I use black gloss engine paint as it closely matches the appearance of the original – Japanning in the case of hand planes – and it holds up very well).

So after an hour of two of work I end up with a tool that looks almost new.

Hugh Terry

Leave a Reply

